All Collections
Building Your Experience 👩‍🔧
Testing and going live
How do I upload participants via CSV? (CSV Upload)
How do I upload participants via CSV? (CSV Upload)
Learn how to upload multiple participants and stakeholders via our CSV Upload.
Kristen Rivera avatar
Written by Kristen Rivera
Updated over a week ago

There are several ways to upload participants into Enboarder. In this article, we will explore the CSV Upload way. (NOTE: If you're going to use our SFTP Method, you'll first need to map your CSV by manually uploading it, and then you'll be able to quickly enable Enboarder to select the right file already mapped out via SFTP!)


This article outlines the main steps to launch workflows through CSV file upload. This method allows flexibility around what information can be sent from an HRIS or ATS to Enboarder, without any API integration


Most systems today will include the ability to produce a CSV report, many even allowing this report to be automated. Our system is flexible and can have the export with any fields, the only formats that we require are to have the date fields in the format YYYY-MM-DD, and mobile numbers should be in standard international format.

However, you don't need a system to generate this report if you're doing this as a once-off upload! You can simply open excel, create a file, and launch manually. If you have questions, feel free to use the chat icon in Enboarder for support! (Top Left of any screen)

Note: Manual CSV Upload has a limit of 1000 lines per CSV. If you need to upload more than that, you'll need to split your CSV file.

Manual vs Automatic upload


Once you have configured your system to export the required CSV file, you have the choice to upload this file manually each time you wish to launch participants’ into the workflow, update, edit or cancel workflows in progress. Your other option would be to create an automated upload with an SFTP server. (Click HERE to read about SFTP setup!)

With Enboarder's Manual Upload, once you have your CSV file, it’s simple to upload this.

First, click Settings (Top right) then click, Apps & Integrations, and then "CSV Upload".

If you don't see "CSV Upload" in Settings, first make sure your Admin status includes CSV Upload, otherwise let your Customer Success Manager know.

Next, click on "Manual Upload"

You'll then be presented with the Upload Wizard which guides you through the Upload, Mapping, Review and Confirmation process.

Note: If you have done this before, your mapping will be saved in Map screen. As you move through the process, you'll be able to save it so you can reuse it next time. (You will also need to have this mapping done in advance when setting up your SFTP transfer).

From there, you will need to map the columns from your CSV file to the fields in Enboarder. You have the ability to nominate one of these columns as the ‘Unique ID’ (e.g. salary ID or Employee ID) so that the system will be able to detect duplicates and easily make changes to existing records.

You are also able to use an ‘Action Type’ column, which will trigger actions, such as launch, cancel, and update live workflows. (For reference, the Action Column fields are Change, New, and Termination and must be worded like this to make the action happen.)

Data such as names, contact info, and start date are required, but all of your Categories or Custom Fields can be included as well!

This mapping of columns is automatically saved for use on a future upload, and you will always have the ability to change it whenever needed.


Review time! On this screen, you'll see any potential issues.

Errors can be anything from unmapped columns (you don't need to map them all!), all the way to Unique IDs not matching. If you do see "errors" on this screen, click the drop-downs that will appear and check out the messaging. This may require you to make a few small CSV updates but then you'll be good to go again!


The Confirm screen will show you any Workflows being updated or canceled as a confirmation on launch.

Always double-check the Workflow details (below) before you click "Complete". This will simply help ensure your participants are going into/being canceled etc from the right Workflow!

When you're ready to go - click Complete and your actions will begin.


Once you have clicked "Complete", the system will start to process and this can take a minute or two.

Please do not close out from the window until you see this screen:

For information on how to allow Enboarder to be even smarter in this process, check out this article here!

Did this answer your question?